Home Remedies Series – Celiac Disease

When people with this disorder consume foods that contain gluten, their immune system reacts violently and this leads to the destruction of the villi, small microscopic projections that line the small intestine and aid in the process of digestion.

As is the case with many other disorders of the immune system, the exact cause behind celiac disease is still unknown. It is surmised that the origins of this disease are genetic in nature, so if someone in your family has this disease, there is a five to ten percent risk that you may have it as well.

The best treatment for celiac disease is to strictly follow a gluten-free diet. Fortunately, with the increase in awareness about this disease, it is now easier to obtain gluten free sources of food from most major markets.

Diet for Celiac Disease

Gluten is not an essential vegetable protein, so you can safely replace sources of gluten such as wheat, rye, and barley with other food items such as corn, and rice. There is no restriction on eating vegetables or meat products. However, it is advisable that you go easy on high fat meat and spicy food items to allow your digestive system to heal. You should include plenty of fresh yogurt in your daily meals as this will help to speed up the healing process.

You should also consume foods that are rich in vitamins and minerals. This will enable your digestive tract to heal faster. Since most gluten-free food is low in fiber, make sure that you get adequate fiber from other sources such as fresh fibrous vegetables. If you regularly follow a gluten-free diet and eat nutritious meals that are full of vitamins and minerals, the symptoms of the disease will eventually subside as your digestive system heals itself. However, once the symptoms have gone, it is essential to continue on a gluten-free diet.

Other Suggestions for Celiac Disease

If you are eating out or buying ready made meals from a supermarket, do ensure that they are marked as gluten free. You should also avoid consuming alcohol that is made from grains that contain gluten, such as beer and whiskey.